ERHC About Us

Mission, Responsibility and History

The Essex Regional Health Commission (the “Commission”) was established in 1967 as the Suburban Municipal Air Pollution Commission for the sole purpose of air pollution control. It was and still is a consortium of municipalities which together formed a regional health commission. Through a joint agreement with member municipalities, it is an exemplary model of shared services, offering cost efficient, regional programs working in close coordination with local health departments of Essex County. From each of the fourteen currently participating municipalities, an appointed Commissioner serves on the governing body. The governing body, or Board of Commissioners, functions as a local board of health pursuant to NJSA 26:3-83.

The Air Pollution Control Code Ordinance of Essex Regional Health Commission can be found on this website under the environmental section or under regulations_ bylaws on the left side of this page.

The Commission is also a subcontractor to the County of Essex County Health Department, established for the purposes of meeting the standards of the County Environmental Health Act.  The Essex County Department of Health is the certified lead agency for the provision of environmental services within Essex County under the auspices of the County Environmental Health Act. The Commission currently provides the County programs for AIR, NOISE, WATER POLLUTION, PESTICIDES, UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS and various pilot programs in all twenty two municipalities in Essex County.

Lastly, the Commission is the Essex County recipient of the Local Core Capacity for Public Health Emergency Preparedness Grant for municipalities in Essex County excluding Newark. The purpose of this grant program  is to enhance the capabilities of emergency-ready public health departments by upgrading, integrating and evaluating local public health coordination of epidemiological/surveillance services, public health emergency notification and health education/risk communication services.


Carrie Nawrocki  MPH
Executive Director
204 Hillside Avenue
Livingston, NJ 07029


Wednesday May 17th 10:00

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 848 6823 6422

Passcode: 217293

One tap mobile

+16469313860,,84868236422#,,,,*217293# US

+19292056099,,84868236422#,,,,*217293# US (New York)

Dial by your location

+1 646 931 3860 US

+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

Meeting ID: 848 6823 6422

Passcode: 217293

Find your local number:

Notice of Schedule of Public Meetings for 2022
Pussuant to Chapter 231 of the New Jersey Open Public Meeting Act of 1975, the Essex Regional Health Commission hereby gives notice that it will conduct its regular Commission meetings on the following dates:

Tuesday February 21, 2023 (10:00 AM)

CANCELED Tuesday, April 18, 2023 (10:00 AM) CANCELED

Tuesday, June 20, 2023 (10:00 AM)

Tuesday, September 19, 2023 (10:00 AM)

Tuesday, December 12, 2023 (11:00 AM)

All meetings will be held at 10:00 am via Zoom until further notice
at 204 Hillside Avenue, 1st floor, Livingston, New Jersey 07039

Topic: ERHC Board Meeting

Time: June 21, 2022 10:00 AM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 819 9578 2870

Passcode: 292772

One tap mobile

+19292056099,,81995782870#,,,,*292772# US (New York)

+13017158592,,81995782870#,,,,*292772# US (Washington DC)

Dial by your location

+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

Meeting ID: 819 9578 2870

Passcode: 292772

Find your local number:

Essex Regional Health Commission Staff

Our professional staff hold degrees in either Physical Science, Biological Science or Engineering or as required by the New Jersey State Health Department to function in public health emergency preparedness

Richard Budris BS, CCNA, MCSA, A+

Deputy Director

Theodore Pilas BS, MA, REHS

Program Coordinator

Anthony D’Agosto BS, MPHA, REHS, HO

Sr Environmental Specialist

Hala Shamon, MS, REHS

Environmental Specialist

Paul Teodoro BS. REHS


Juan Cordero
Administrative Assistant CFO

Marisol Leguizamon

Chief Financial Officer

Erica Abbruzzese, MCHES

Coordinator, Essex County Overdose Fatality Review Team

Yvette Whittle BS

Administrative Assistant

Amber Rockson MPH

Covid Generalist